top of page

 What are Levels of Consciousness?

Levels of Consciousness Chart DM.png
Many people are not sure what Levels of Consciousness mean or how the scale's progression happens. In this article, we will explain the fundamental concept of what Level of Consciousness is.

The Levels of Consciousness (LOCs) represent the density of the mind. At the lowest LOCs, the mind is very dense, and this density is reduced at higher LOCs. The less dense the mind is, the easier it is to experience the natural Being, known as the Self, boundless Awareness, or Full Consciousness. 

The Levels of Consciousness (LOCs) can be hard to grasp, unless one has had first-hand experience, moving through a significant part of the scale, or having experienced big jumps up the scale. 

Since many people misunderstand what it means to progress up the scale, we will use the following analogy to describe it.

The Ocean of Consciousness Analogy

Imagine all Levels of Consciousness as the layers of the ocean. Below is LOC Anxiety that is so deep that no sunlight reaches down to that level. People residing at this level permanently may think that it is normal to be in the dark. 
However, people born at higher levels who have gradually descended to these low levels would have an inkling that ‘something is not right’, and they would know deep within that something else is possible. 
Right above LOC Anxiety is a different world that is still dim. However, enough sunlight at least comes through so that shadows and silhouettes are visible. 

Furthermore, it is now possible to navigate towards the light. Meanwhile, life is still hard and full of struggle in LOC Need to Positivity, but, at least, one can now move towards the sunlight. Contrastively, at LOC Anxiety, one would hardly remember that there is even such a thing as sunlight. It all seems hopeless and unchangeable.
What are Levels of Consciousness
Moving up the Levels of Consciousness has little to do with reading books or intellectual knowledge. It has, however, everything to do with removing core conditioning and creating space for more of the Light of Consciousness to shine through unfiltered. 

For example, if you go around expecting a lot from other people, you would be constantly disappointed and angry. You would be caught up in all sorts of dramas on the surface ‘story level’ of what is happening. 

However, if you remove the ‘core belief’ of having expectations, all the anger, disappointment, and drama on the surface would suddenly disappear. You would live in a different world because you have just shifted your perception of the world and others.​

As the core conditioning is resolved, it is automatically replaced by inherent correct clarity. Some density of the mind has been released, and things become much clearer. 

As you move into LOC Inner Will, Allowance, and even, LOC Rationality, you start to see things more clearly and in detail. It is still well below the surface of the ocean, but much more light comes through here, and life feels much more supported and enjoyable than at the lower levels.​

When you reach LOC Inner Light through LOC Non-Duality, you would swim around right below the surface in almost full daylight. This is where the real mystery can start to happen. 

At intervals, you would no longer identify with the body, but rather, with the ocean of consciousness itself. As you progress even higher and breach the surface in LOC Awareness to Full Consciousness, you would paradoxically realize that you were the ocean all along. Indeed, all the levels were contained within you.

Changing the TV Channel

Progressing up the scale is not about how much you ‘know’, but rather, about removing ingrained ‘knowledge’ that distorts your vision and blocks your light of consciousness.

Each main level of consciousness is like a different TV channel. When you change your level of consciousness, it feels akin to changing the ‘TV channel’ that is playing out your life.  

If you like horror movies, stay below LOC Anxiety. If you prefer drama, LOC Need through LOC Allowance is good for that, but if you like adventure movies, I recommend the higher LOC Inner Light through LOC Unity. 

For those interested in being present with real life, here and now, having clarity of paradoxes of the dual nature of the mind, LOC Presence and LOC Non-Duality are great. Meanwhile, if you want true fulfillment, bliss, and freedom of being, move into the bandwidth of LOC Awareness through LOC Full Consciousness.​

Each level contains certain ‘lessons’ that keep repeating until you have worked through them. This is called karmic or cycles of mind’s conditioning. You then move out of that level and into the next one. 

It is like a school of life, with different classes and levels. The lower-level lessons are usually more gross and dramatic than the higher-level lessons. To progress as quickly as possible, you need to re-prioritize your life, where movement up the scale becomes your number one priority. 

You may realize that you can grow and learn spiritually, rather than having to manifest additional challenges in your life in order to grow in consciousness.

bottom of page